top of page

Sephora Favorites - Extravagant Eyes Review & Swatches

Tis the season for all of the amazing Sephora kits and holiday sets! I was looking through the newly added Value Sets and came across this kit and had to see if it was worth it. It is valued at C$161.00 and I picked it up for only C$50.00. This set includes full size items and deluxe sized items. I figured it was an awesome deal and such a great way to try out different products that are out of your comfort zone or that you may not want to spend that much money on regularly.

This set claims to be a multi branded sampler set that's perfect for creating a smouldering smoky eye. Let's see if it lives up to the claims!

First off, here is a photo of the packaging and box it comes in.

I thought the box was beautiful and I loved the holographic look to it. I think this is a box I am going to keep to store other items because it is so beautiful!

Next, this is what the box looked like once I first opened.

All of the products were laid out perfectly and it was easy to see all of the items that came in the box.

From top to bottom, I first grabbed the Milk Makeup Eye Pigment that came in the shade Silent Disco. It only has 0.158oz an is not full size, but it is a perfect way to try out a new product. I also found that a tiny amount went a long way, so you could still get many uses from this product.

This product is a brown shade with sparkles in it and on my pale skin it tends to lean more black. It claims to not crease during wear and has a very intense finish which makes it perfect for an intense smoky eye look.

Next up is the Marc Jacobs Beauty O!Mega Lash Volumizing Mascara in Blacquer. This mascara is a deluxe size and comes with 0.10oz of product. I am not one to buy high end mascara because I often find I can get just as good mascara at the drugstore, but it was nice to be able to try a high end one!

This product has a very black, mousse consistency and I absolutely love the wand it comes with. I tend to go for more synthetic wands over plastic/rubber wands so I was very pleased! I will have to test this out a few times to see if it is worth the price tag!

Now we have the NARS Dual-Intensity Eyeshadow in Himalia. This product has 0.05oz and is full sized. This eyeshadow alone retails for C$36.00 which is almost the price of the entire box! I love NARS packaging but their products tend to be more pricey so this was a good way to try it out.

When I first opened the eyeshadow, I immediately fell in love with the colour. It is described as a shimmering topaz, and can be used dry or wet depending on the desired intensity.

I think this shadow is absolutely stunning and is perfect to add a pop of colour to a warm smoky eye. For the swatch, I decided to try it out dry as that is the way that I usually like to apply shadows.

Just take a look at that intense metallic pigment!

Next up we have a Sephora Collection Waterproof Contour Eye Pencil 12 HR Wear in Black Lace #01. It is a deluxe size and has 0.028oz of product. This is a creamy, black kohl stick liner perfect for use on the waterline and is also waterproof. What more could you want for a smokey eye look?!

I then swatched the pencil on my hand and could not believe how easily it glided on my hand. Not to mention the intense black that this pencil provided.

Behind every good eyeshadow application is a good eyeshadow primer! In this kit came the Smashbox Cosmetics 24 Hour Photo Finish Shadow Primer in a deluxe size of 0.14oz. I have use this eyeshadow primer before and absolutely love it. It makes eyeshadow last literally all day until you decide to take it off, and makes even the worst eyeshadows look better.

This primer is a nude shade that ends up being basically transparent when blended in, and has a very silicone texture to it. For anyone who wants their eyeshadow to last longer I highly recommend this product!

One of the items I was most excited for is the Urban Decay Heavy Metal Glitter Eyeliner in Midnight Cowboy. This item is full sized and has 0.25oz of product. This item retails for C$23.00.

I am glitter obsessed and have always wanted to try the Urban Decay glitter liners but haven't wanted to splurge so I was so happy it was in this value box.

This liner will be a great addition to any smoky eye to give it some extra detail!

Another item I was ecstatic about was the Huda Beauty Lashes in Samantha #7. These are full sized and retail for C$24.00. I have always wanted to try these lashes and the ones they chose for the kit are absolutely stunning.

I think this pair of lashes are perfect to be paired with a smoky eye because they aren't too dramatic where they will overpower the eye look, but they are just wispy enough to add the finishing touch.

Finally, last but not least is the Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Colour in Plum. This product is a deluxe size and has 0.05oz of product. I thought that adding a plum colour into this set was perfect because not everyone can pull off a stark black eye look. This way, the smoky eye can be a bit softer and suit more eye shapes and age ranges! I love the aspect of a stick eyeshadow and how this can also be used on lower lashline/waterline.

After getting the chance to test out and play with all of these products, I feel it is an overall awesome value and a great way to try out a handful of high end brands. I recommend this set to anyone who enjoys a smoky eye, and if you have your eyes on this I suggest you pick it up as it is limited edition :)

bottom of page